AU student serves two-year reign as Miss Black and Gold

By Kashalah Robinson | Contributor  

In April of 2016, then sophomore Trene’ Hamilton competed in her first pageant, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity’s Miss Black and Gold, and won the title.  

Almost two years later, the now senior still holds that title.  

Overall, the Augusta native described her experience in the last two years as being a learning journey.  

“I was able to put on events around the school, plan things with my court, and network with other Miss Black and Golds around the state of Georgia,” Hamilton said. “I was able to do things I may not have been able to do otherwise, while also learn about myself.” 

There were several requirements, one of which includes putting on social events. Because Hamilton’s platform was anti-bullying her first event was “Uncovering Insecurities,” a panel about body uncertainties due to unhappiness from being bullied or family issues. The audience asked questions for the panel to answer them. Her next event was “Don’t Touch My Hair,” a hair show that was also connected to anti-bullying. Hamilton wanted to highlight the beauty of black hair by celebrating it.  

Hamilton’s most recent event will be a talent show that will take place on Sat., Nov. 11, at 4 p.m. in the JSAC Ballroom. She wanted it to be a fun event that will “showcase all the talent that Augusta University has.”  

But planning these has not been a walk in the park. Hamilton described the struggles of putting together shows and panels.  

“It is difficult finding time to coordinate events, find participants who are social, judges, and panel members,” Hamilton said. “It takes a lot of resources and time to make sure it is successful, but I am proud because I directed, coordinated and hosted all of my events.” 

Although being Miss Black and Gold is a huge part of Hamilton, she wants people to know there is more to her.  

“I’m in the honor’s program, a research assistant for the psychology department, former resident assistant, and I tutor in the writing center,” she said. “I like to travel, and I’ve studied abroad in Italy. I’m loving, and I like to help others.” 

Being Miss Black and Gold has impacted Hamilton’s life in several ways.  

“I was hesitant to do the pageant because I was able to leave the country to study abroad in Italy and I was taking 16 credit hours,” she said. “And I didn’t have a real talent, but I heard this poem called ‘Evaluating Black Privilege’ by Crystal Valentine and it spoke to me, and I knew that I had to share it. Performing it at both pageants made me feel strong and confident. Along with placing fourth at districts, I also won best talent.”  

Hamilton was also adamant on how being Miss Black and Gold contributed to her events’ successes and her ability to finish.  

“I wouldn’t have had the opportunity by myself,” she said. “I made lots of networks and connections. 

To her successor, Hamilton’s words of encouragement are as follows: “When things get tough, keep going. It will be hard to manage being queen, school work, and extracurricular, so make time for the things you love.”  

As advice for students, Hamilton also said to have a great support system.  

“I am appreciative that I had my family and friends behind me, encouraging me, even when I was unsure.” 

The next Miss Black and Gold pageant will take place spring of 2018. Hamilton will not go for the third year.  

Contact Kashalah Robinson at kasrobinson@augusta.edu 

 

 

 

Leave a comment