Q&A with Keshun Sherrill: Sherrill on his last year as a Jaguar

(Top) The Augusta Jaguars, including senior player Keshun Sherrill, gather together before playing the PBC Quarterfinal game against the Montevallo Falcons on Feb. 25 in the Christenberry Fieldhouse. (Photo: Kait Fruechting)
(Top) The Augusta Jaguars, including senior player Keshun Sherrill, gather together before playing the PBC Quarterfinal game against the Montevallo Falcons on Feb. 25 in the Christenberry Fieldhouse. (Photo: Kait Fruechting)

By Kait Fruechting and Jamie Sapp | Staff Writer and Editor-in-Chief

Sherrill on his last year as a Jaguar

After stepping out on the basketball court for the last time as a Jaguar, Keshun Sherrill spoke with The Bell Ringer to give them insight into who he is, what he wants, and what values he holds dear. He spoke of everything from his pregame rituals and things that people do not know about him as well as more serious ideals and values.


What is your mental, emotional, and physical preparation?

Sherrill: Well mentally, I don’t like to overthink it too much. At the end of the day, it is just another basketball game. I have played basketball all my life. I just have to prepare myself mentally and physically. Physically, I just basically have to get my rest and do what I do performance wise. Everything else will just take care of itself.

What are your pre-game rituals or habits?

Sherrill: I have to get a nap before the game. If I don’t get my nap, I don’t know how I’m going to play. That is just my ritual. Just getting off my feet and relaxing because I know the game is going to be very intense.

Senior player Keshun Sherrill goes against Montevallo Falcons’ senior player Kevin Kelly during the PBC Quarterfinal game on Feb. 25. (Photo: Kait Fruechting)
Senior player Keshun Sherrill goes against the Montevallo Falcons’ senior player Kevin Kelly during the PBC Quarterfinal game on Feb. 25. (Photo: Kait Fruechting)

Throughout your career, what are some things you have learned about being a leader to your teammates and classmates?

Sherrill: Respect. You know the old saying, treat someone how you want to be treated. I take that with me throughout my whole life. I am not going to go out here and just talk bad or be disrespectful. So, I just like to carry myself in that manner and just respect others.

On Jan. 18, you scored your 2000th point of your career. What was your first thought?

Sherrill: Relief. You know it took lots of hard work and perseverance. But when I got it, it was really just a sigh of relief. And a blessing.

How did you feel knowing that this was your last time stepping out on the court as a Jaguar?

Sherrill: It’s bittersweet. The Jaguar Nation has been good to me. It’s just bittersweet. I am just glad we were able to come out with a “W” my last time playing here.

What are your plans after graduation?

Sherrill: Well, that is the big thing. I graduate on May 12. Hopefully, I can go play ball professionally somewhere. Or maybe even get a D-League (NBA Development League) or NBA tryout.

Finally, what is something that we don’t know about you? Who is Keshun Sherrill off the court?

Sherrill: Well, Keshun is real goofy off the court. Growing up I played the drums in my church and to this day I still love to play drums whenever I get the chance. I am very decent at bowling. I would say I am above average at bowling. It’s like my second hobby when I am not playing basketball. That’s two things that people don’t know about Keshun.

Contact Kait Fruechting at kfruechting@augusta.edu. Contact Jamie Sapp at jsapp270@augusta.edu.

Published on March 1, 2017 in Volume 59, Issue 3 of The Bell Ringer newspaper. 

Leave a Reply

